Gerrard Wilson
Above: Top Gear Festival - Bushy Park barbados
Photo: Gerrard Wilson

About Us

Who We Are

The Barbados Motoring Federation is the governing body of motor sport for the country of Barbados.

Recognized by the Federation Internationale de l'Automobile and the Government of Barbados, the BMF represents its eight member clubs across all disciplines.

The BMF is led by its President (currently Andrew Mallalieu), who is elected by the member clubs every three years. The object of the BMF is to develop motor sport and mobility in Barbados.

Top: FIA President Jean Todt and BMF President Andrew Mallalieu during a visit by an FIA delegation to Barbados in 2012

Above: British F4 Champion 2019, Barbadian Zane Maloney

Left: Current FIA R5 (Rally 2) Skoda Fabia in action during a local rally


Our History

The Barbados Automobile Association was founded in Barbados in 1956. This association is focused on the mobility arm of motoring with particular emphasis on safety. The second club to be formed, in 1957, was the Barbados Rally Club, which held the FIA affiliation until the BMF was formed. By the turn of the millennium there were already six clubs operating across various disciplines of sport and mobility.

In 2000 all clubs came together to create the Barbados Motoring Federation. Today the Federation enjoys unity among its eight thriving members.

Top: The starter Denis Bannister waves off the eventual winners of the 1957 June Rally, Donald Wiles and DeLisle Jones in a Standard Vanguard 

Above: Dobbie Douglas & George Branker, winners of the 1965 Mobil Mileage Rally with their Wolseley 1500

Left: The 1975 Race of Champions grid at Bushy Park race circuit